A year? Already???!!!???

HOW is my son about to turn a year old in less than 2 weeks?  Where did the time go?

I know so many told me, “Don’t blink, or you’ll miss it.”  I dismissed this as silliness.  How could I NOT notice my son grow up right before my very eyes?  But they were right.  It happens almost in an instant.  They go from being dependent on you carrying them everywhere, to scooting, to crawling, to pulling up, and finally to walking.  Or, if they’re MY son, they start crawling, walking, running (behind a push toy) AND cutting 4 teeth ALL at the same time!

And I just want to say, “Slow down.  Be my baby just a little bit longer.  Let me snuggle you, and rock you to sleep.”  Right now he’s 27 pounds and 32 inches tall, almost the size of an average 2 year old.  Hard to believe this is the same little 5 pound boy I brought home from the NICU.

But he has my heart.  And he always will.  No matter what goes on in my life, he is why I wake up each morning, and he is the last thing I see before I go to bed each night.

We’re planning a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse party.  He LOVES “Giggey”, especially the Hot Dog Dance.  We’re going to have a Hot Diggity Dog Hot Dog Bar where guests are creating their own hot dogs with “Mickey’s Hot Diggity Dogs”, “Donald’s Ducky Dill Relish”, Minnie’s Marvelous Mustard”, “Clarabelle’s Catsup”, “Pluto’s Doggy Buns”, “Pete’s ‘Politan Ice Cream”, and so on and so forth.  It should be a great time, and I hope my little Mouseketeer enjoys it.  As for me, I’ll probably end up hiding somewhere crying as my baby becomes a toddler…

Leave a Reply

